Richard Turton Award

Richard Turton Award

The Richard Turton Award is an annual award funded by INSOL Europe, INSOL International, the Insolvency Practitioners Association and R3, the Association of Business Recovery Professionals, jointly created in recognition of Richard Turton’s unique role in the formation of all four organisations.

The Richard Turton Award provides an educational opportunity for a qualifying participant to attend the INSOL Europe Annual Congress with all expenses paid.

This award will be given to the best paper proposal and will be presented at the INSOL Europe Congress in Dubrovnik, Croatia, 6-9 October 2022.

We invite applications from any person who:

• is a national of a developing or emerging market country;
• works in or studies in the field of insolvency and restructuring law and practice*;
• is under 35 years of age.

The successful applicant will:

  • Be invited to attend the INSOL Europe Congress in Dubrovnik, Croatia, 6-9 October 2022 , all expenses paid.
  • Write a paper of 3,000 words on a subject of insolvency and turnaround agreed with the panel. This paper will be published in summary in one or more of the four Member Associations’ journals and in full on their websites.
  • Be recognised at the congress and receive a framed certificate of the Richard Turton Award.

If you fulfil the criteria and are able to meet the requirements of the successful applicant, you are invited to apply by sending your CV, a 200 word statement outlining why you should be chosen, the title of your proposed paper and a brief synopsis.

For more information and to apply:

Contact Jelena Wenlock

Application deadline: 30 June 2022

*Students satisfying the nationality requirement, but studying in another country, are also eligible to apply.

Richard Turton Award Winner 2021

The Richard Turton Award Panel is pleased to announce that the 2021 winner is Abbas Abbasov from Azerbaijan.

Abbas is currently a PhD student at the Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg, in Germany, researching cross-border insolvency and restructuring law. He will be writing a paper on “Protection of dissenting creditors’ interests: Direct application of the “substantive fairness’’ test while considering the recognition of foreign restructuring plans”which will be published in summary in one or more of the Member Associations' journals and in full on their websites.

Don't take it from us

What our winners have said...

"The Richard Turton Award was for me, in 2005, and continues to be today, a launching pad for young people in the field of insolvency. I definitely urge my colleagues, who are at the beginning of the road, to capitalise any chance offered [...] because people of indisputable value are waiting for them, with open arms, to guide their steps in the world of insolvency.”
Lavinia-Olivia Iancu, 2005 Winner

"This award meant a lot to me. I was the first person in Hungary who won this award. My name has become known in the Hungarian judicial and academic community, and my paper also brought international recognition through Eurofenix: it was cited [...] and read all over the world."
Róbert Muzsalyi, 2016 Winner

"In the context of systemic crisis caused by COVID-19, the Richard Turton Award represented a unique opportunity to raise awareness of the problems of insolvency legislation in Latin America. [...] Winning the award has allowed me to consolidate as part of the new generations of lawyers who spread this branch of law."
Carla Cervantes Villacorta, 2020 Winner

To read more on these testimonials, click here for the article in Eurofenix, INSOL Europe's Journal.

Richard Turton Award Winners