About the Richard Turton Award

Richard Turton had a unique role in the formation and management of INSOL Europe, INSOL International, the English Insolvency Practitioners Association and R3, the Association of Business Recovery Professionals in the UK. In recognition of his achievements these four organisations jointly created an award in memory of Richard.


The Richard Turton Award provides an educational opportunity for a qualifying participant to attend the annual INSOL Europe Conference.

In recognition of those aspects in which Richard had a special interest, the award is open to applicants who fulfil all of the following:

  • +Work in and are a national of a developing or emerging nation;
  • +Work in or be actively studying insolvency law & practice;
  • +Be under 35 years of age at the date of the application;
  • +Have sufficient command of spoken English to benefit from the conference technical programme;
  • +Agree to the conditions below

Technical Electronic Newsletter

All members receive our monthly electronic newsletter.

In these, we cover global case decisions, new and pending legislation, journal articles, news, deal information and any other information of interest to our members. The newsletter has a format that provides links to the full details of the articles.


Applicants for the award are invited to write to the address below enclosing their C.V. and stating why they should be chosen in less than 200 words by the 2nd July 2018. In addition the panel requests that the applicants include the title of their suggested paper as specified below. The applications will be adjudicated by a panel representing the four associations. The decision will be made by the 6th August 2018 to allow the successful applicant to co-ordinate their attendance with INSOL Europe.

The successful applicant will:

  • +Be invited to attend the INSOL Europe Annual Conference in Athens, Greece from 7 - 10 October 2018.
  • +Write a paper of 3,000 words on a subject of insolvency and turnaround to be agreed with the panel. This paper will be published in summary in one or more of the Member Associations’ journals and in full on their websites.
  • +Be recognised at the conference and receive a framed certificate of the Richard Turton Award.

Interested? Let us know why you should be given the opportunity to attend the INSOL Europe Conference as a recipient of the Richard Turton Award plus an overview of your paper in no more than 200 words by the 2nd July 2018 to:

Richard Turton Award
c/o INSOL International
6-7 Queen Street

Fax: +44 (0) 20 7248 3384
E-mail: jason@insol.ision.co.uk

Too old? Do a young colleague a favour and pass details of this opportunity on.

Applicants will receive notice by the 6th August 2018 of the panel's decision.
Richard Turton Award Winners
2017 Winner - bingdao wang

The Committee is delighted to announce that the winner is Bingdao Wang from China. Bingdao is currently a third year PhD candidate at University of Leeds, UK. His research focuses on the development of cross-border insolvency law in developing countries, his research explores how experiences from Europe and other developed jurisdictions would help the imperative insolvency system reforms in emerging markets. This is the first time that we have had a winner from China. Previous winners have come from Uganda, Belarus, Hungary, India, Latvia, Lithuania, PRC, Romania, Russia and Serbia.

As part of the award, Bingdao was invited to attend the INSOL Europe Conference which was held on the 5 - 8 October 2017  in Warsaw, Poland. He will be writing a paper on "Belt and Road: Is it an Oppertunity for a Regional Insolvency Solution?", this will be published in summary in one or more of the Member Associations' journals and in full on their website. We would like to congratulate Bingdao for his excellent application and would also like to thank all the candidates who applied for the award in 2017.


Róbert Muzsalyi

2015 Turton Award Winner

Waiswa Abudu-Salam

2014 Turton Award Winner

Anant Khandelwal

2013 Turton Award Winner

Danuta Brzezinska

2012 Turton Award Winner

Edvins Draba

2011 Turton Award Winner

leva Baranauskaite

2010 Turton Award Winner

Maurycy Organa

2009 Turton Award Winner

Yana Hankovic

2008 Turton Award Winner

Tang Liangyuian

2007 Turton Award Winner

Yanna Bakulina

2006 Turton Award Winner

Jelena Marjanovic

2005 Turton Award Winner

Lavinia-Olivia Aspru